Daily Archives: June 8, 2017

Attention Young Lawyers: Vote Today in Contested Young Lawyers Section Executive Council Election

Vote2017Attention young lawyers of every Michigan county excluding Wayne, Macomb and Oakland counties: This year six attorneys are running for four seats on the Young Lawyers Section Executive Council in District 3. That means your vote matters more than ever in this race. You should have received an electronic ballot for the 2017 SBM elections via e-mail. If you don't have an e-mail address on file, you will receive a paper ballot. You have until 11:59 p.m. on June 15 to cast your votes (or get your ballot in the mail to be counted).

The Young Lawyers Section Executive Council Candidates are Bobby A. Finklin Jr., of Lansing, who serves as managing attorney at The Ficklin Law Firm and primarily practices social security disability appeals, criminal defense, small business and nonprofit startup law; Jonathan D. Goslow, of Ann Arbor, an attorney at Hudson Legal, LLC, with a practice focused on employment-based immigration; Kara R. Hart-Negrich, of Lansing, who serves as a staff attorney at the Michigan State Housing Development Authority and the State Historic Preservation Office, where she practices everything from fair housing to cultural heritage law; Samantha J. Jonas, of Muskegon, an assistant prosecuting attorney for the Muskegon County Family Court Division; Amy S. Krieg, of East Lansing, assistant director of career development for Michigan State University College of Law; and Laura M. Kubit, of Caro, a civil legal aid attorney with Lakeshore Legal Aid, serving low-income and senior populations of Tuscola, Bay, Midland, Gladwin, Clare, Isabella, Gratiot and Saginaw counties. 

To read full bios of all candidates, access the voting website via the member area of www.michbar.org, where you will need to sign in and click on the VOTE NOW button to be directed to the voting website.

If you have questions, contact Marge Bossenbery at mbossenbery@michbar.org or (517) 346-6327, or contact Election Services Co. at sbmelection@electionservicescorp.com.

Source link